European Champions League history (UCL) from start to present

UEFA Champions Leagua or Champions league is the best inter-club competition in continental Europe. The competition is hosted by UEFA as the highest football authority in Europe. The participants were the best teams on the Blue continent. The Champions league is the most prestigious club tournament in Europe or even the world. The first time the tournament was held in 1955 at the time of the European Champions Clubs ‘ Cup. The following is information about the full history of the UEFA Champions League from the beginning of the stand.

European Champions League history

European predecessor competition

The club competition in continental Europe is the first Challenge Cup. The tournament brought together clubs in Austrian and Hungarian territory. Then there was the Mitropa Cup tournament which was first held in 1927. Mitropa Cup brings together club clubs in the Central European region only.

In 1930, the European club tournament was held again under the name of the Coupe des Nations held in Switzerland which brought together champions from 10 different leagues in Europe. The Hungarian club Ujpest was the champion of the tournament.

In the 40s, efforts to form tournaments between European clubs returned with Latin Cup tournaments, especially for Latin European countries such as Italy, France, Spain and Portugal. The tournament was held between 1949 and 1957.

Although many tournaments between European clubs are held such as the Challenge Cup, Mitropa Cup, Coupes des Nations or Latin Cup, but none of them really represent all over Europe. The tournament only involves a few countries and is managed.

Early beginnings

In 1948, the Club of South America held the Campeonato Sudamericano de Campeones tournament. The tournament was a major success and was the beginning of the Copa Libertadores tournament. This prompted the editor of the magazine L’equipe, Gabriel Hanot, to propose proposals for the large-scale club tournaments in Europe.

In the early 50s, English club Wolverhampton Wanderers, at that time coach, Stan Cullis, declared himself the world’s best club after winning several Test matches against other country clubs, especially when defeating Hungarian Club of Budapest Honved in 1954.

It was refuted by many parties, including also by Gabriel Hanot. He said that Wolverhampton has not been worthy of the best club because there are still other great club clubs like Real Madrid or AC Milan.

This condition then made UEFA agree to hold a tournament between European clubs to prove the best club. The UEFA Congress in Paris in 1955 agreed to hold a tournament named European Champion Clubs ‘ Cup or known as the European Cup.

First Champions League

The first European Cup competition was to be held by UEFA in the 1955-1956 season. A Total of 16 champion clubs from 16 different countries participated, namely:

AC Milan (Italy)
AGF Aarhus (Denmark)
Anderlecht (Belgium)
Djurgarden (Sweden)
Gwardia Warszawa (Poland)
Hibernian (Scotland)
Partizan (Yugoslavia)
PSV Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Rapid Wien (Austria)
Real Madrid (Spain)
Rot-Weiss Essen (West Germany)
Saarbrucken (Saarland)
Servette (Switzerland)
Sporting CP (Portugal)
Stade de Reims (France)
Voros Lobogo (Hungary)

The first European Cup match occurred on 4 September 1955 between Sporting CP against Partizan with a final score of 3-3. The first goal in the European competition was scored by Sporting CP player Joao Baptista Martins. In the end, the Spanish club, Real Madrid, won the first European title by defeating Stade de Reims in the final round with a score of 4-3.

The competition continues to be held annually. In the 1992-1993 season, the competition changed its name to UEFA Champions League or UEFA Champions league, which was accompanied by a change of format. The first team to win in the Champions League format was Olympique Marseille of France. Until now, Real Madrid became the most successful club in the history of the Champions League by becoming the most champions.

Real Madrid won 5 Champions league titles in succession and became the most Champions League club in the past. In the list of European Champions League champions, many of the winners were AC Milan (Italy), Bayern Munich (Germany), Liverpool (Spain), Barcelona (in Spanish) and Ajax Amsterdam (Netherlands).